banner right

Historic Building


The Norfolk Municipal Employees Federal Credit Union of Norfolk was chartered in 1957 and has operated continuously in the City of Norfolk since its inception. The credit union's primary mission is to provide trusted financial services for every member and enhance member financial well being while maintaining our fiscal strength.  The credit union has built a reputation of conservative soundness that has served it well.


Board of Directors


As a not-for-profit financial cooperative, the Credit Union is governed by a volunteer board of directors elected by our membership. Our board is comprised of dedicated individuals who donate their time and talents to ensure the success of our credit union.


John Kownack Chairperson
Jayward Hanna Vice Chairperson
David S. Freeman Treasurer
Charles S. Prentace Secretary
Anne Hall Shank Director
Nikki Riddick Director
Alice Kelly Director


Management & Staff


David McElhaney President & CEO
Maureen Romero Vice President
Susan McBride Operations Manager
Bennie Coleman

Member Service


Alisia Cousin

Loan Officer

Emly Outten Teller Supervisor
Amanda Jackson


Tobi Oakley PT Teller








Supervisory Committee

The role of the Credit Union’s Supervisory Committee is to perform financial audit oversight on behalf of NMEFCU’s Board of Directors. The primary responsibility of the Supervisory Committee is to serve as a means of checks and balances at the Credit Union.


We want to make sure you are happy with our products, services and staff at all times. If you have questions, comments or concerns about your account or the credit union's operations, you should first contact the credit union directly. However, in the unlikely event that you are not satisfied with the response, you can appeal the matter to the Supervisory Committee which will conduct an additional, independent review. Supervisory Committee correspondence should be mailed to the following address: Supervisory Committee, P.O. Box 3730, Norfolk, VA  23514


Joseph Baron Committee Chair
Adria Moore

Committee Member

Shirley Diebler Committee Member
Lisa Arnold Committee Member



City Hall Office

City Hall Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Phone Numbers


Member Services - 757.664.4273
Loan Department - 757.664.4271
Audio Teller - 757.233.3322
Fax - 757.664.4278

Routing Number - 251481669

Wire Transfer Instructions

Please note that you will need the  following new information to recieve a wire transfer into your NMEFCU  accounts:

1) Wire to: Mid-Atlantic Corporate FCU, Routing #231387550

2) Credit to: Norfolk Municipal Employees FCU, Acct #251481669120

3) Final Credit to: Your NMEFCU account number and your name







© 2007 NMEFCU   Equal Housing Equal Housing Lender   

NCUA logo
Your savings federally insured to at least $250,000
and backed by the full faith and credit of the United States Government.

About NMEFCU | Locations | Privacy, Security & Legal

Button for sign up for E-statements